David Gillingham Award

David Gillingham header

Named in recognition of the founding president of NIBS, the David Gillingham Award was introduced in 2013. Its aim is to honour outstanding, internationally-oriented business education projects, and to encourage NIBS member schools to share best practices with their peers.

The award consists of a certificate, and formal recognition at the NIBS Annual Conference.  An abstract of the winning project is also published on the NIBS website.

Selection criteria:

Projects will be judged on the extent to which they:

  • advance business education
  • meaningfully engage students and/or faculty members
  • have an international interest or horizon
  • are inspiring
  • have an impact on the host school or a network of schools
  • potentially benefit the wider community

Both ‘in progress’ and completed projects are eligible.

Application process:

The David Gillingham Award is open to all NIBS member institutions.  To be considered, schools should prepare a description of the initiative (no more than 500 words) along with two PowerPoint summary slides and submit them via email to newsletter@nibsweb.org on or before 20 May 2022.

Finalists will be asked to give a short presentation about their project at a special online event scheduled for May 2021 (TBC), with the winner being selected via audience vote.

Past Winners:


Winner: International Collaborative Inclusion through Business Simulation, Ed OVERES 

Runner up: Motivating international newbies for strategic management through a COIL XL, Neji MILAD

University: Artevelde University of Applied Sciences, Belgium 


Runner up: Student Learning Ambassadors Module (SLAM), Professor Ding NING, Mariusz SOLTANIFAR 

University: Hanze University of Applied Sciences Groningen, Netherlands 


Title: Working Across Borders (WAB), Sven CERULUS  

University: University College Leuven-Limburg (UCLL), Belgium 

David Gillingham Award Submission UCLL (BE).ppt


Title: An innovative approach to over the technical challenges as a result of Brexitfor Swedish student’s funding provision, studying validated U.K. top-up programmes in Sweden. 

Colin KNAPP, Rebecka Persson and Otto Lilliehöök.

University: Företagsekonomiska Institutet (FEI), Sweden 


2020 The David Gillingham Award wasn’t run due to the global pandemic.


Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands, for ‘The Rotterdam Business Case’. This unique project partnered with The Foundation Entrepreneurs Soundboard and Rotterdam City Council combined to nurtured and mentor over 400 successful entrepreneurs from below the poverty line. Students, mentors and businesses combined in a young + old = gold initiative to support developing businesses. The model’s success was shared with partners in Finland and Brighton to add an international dimension.



Carleton University, Canada, for the ‘From Buckets to Rain Barrels‘ learning initiative in which business, engineering and industrial design students collaborate with NGOs and residents to develop water purification and storage solutions for a drought-impacted region of Tanzania.
>> Read the news article (Carleton University)


Jackson State University, USA, for the ‘Passport to the World‘ initiative for students from historically disadvantaged backgrounds.


FH Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences, Austria, for the Scaling Up from Local to Global collaborative entrepreneurship and learning program.
>> Read the news article (English translation in Wirtschafts Zeit)



Arkansas State University, USA, for their Ecuador Project in Salinas de Guaranda.
>> Read the news article (ASU News)

Competitions now open for registration

Entrepreneurial vision. International focus. Extraordinary opportunity.