Jackson State wins David Gillingham Award

Jackson State DGA

Dr. Ramin Maysami, Dean of the College of Business at Jackson State University, accepts the David Gillingham Award from NIBS Vice President Wilhelmina Hazelhoff-Pouwer

Jackson State University has been named the winner of the 2016 David Gillingham Award.

The DGA is the signature award of the Network of International Business Schools, and is presented each year to the project or initiative undertaken by one or more NIBS member schools that is deemed to contribute most meaningfully to internationalization. The award was named in honour of NIBS founder and former president Prof. David Gillingham, and was introduced at the 2013 NIBS Annual Conference.

JSU won the award for its innovative Passport to the World program, an initiative that provides meaningful international education experiences for students from historically disadvantaged backgrounds.  The interdisciplinary program includes opportunities to travel to seven different cities/countries: Cape Town (South Africa), Madrid (Spain), Paris (France), Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Salvador da Bahia (Brazil), Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic),  Shanghai (China), and Hyderabad (India).  Efforts are also made to link these international experiences to cultural and discipline-based learning activities back in the United States.

More about the JSU Passport to the World Experience (.pdf 2.4 MB)

Spread the word. Share this post!

Leave A Reply

Competitions now open for registration

Entrepreneurial vision. International focus. Extraordinary opportunity.